Posted by: davesnewadventure | November 30, 2007

Broken Spokes, Cameras, and a Sole

Typically, when you do adventure cycling of this sort for a long period of time, ie more than several months, you`ll end up breaking things. Here`s my canonical list so far. By the way, I`m enjoying myself thoroughly here in Uruguay, after a hectic week and a half mad dash through Rio Grande do Sul to get out of Brazil before the expiration of my visitor`s VISA. Next time, I`m gonna have to figure out how to get the scientific cultural VISA for more time to explore Brazil.

 Busted items

  • one bontrager 26 inch rim, split down the middle. How that happened, I dunno. Got a VSPAN brazilian made rim for free from a local bike shop in Joinville. Apparently, the owner thought I was doing something that was extremely out of the ordinary. I dunno, it feels pretty normal to me. 🙂
  • 3 treads. I`ve just about destroyed two GEAX kevlar treads, one cheng shin hybrid tread, and am now in the process of grinding down a cheap, rubber tire from Brazil.
  • One internal axle. When I was at the bike shop in Maringa, they took out my rear hub, disassembled it, and discovered the worst, worn down axle they`d ever seen. Hmph, guess they`ve never met adventure cyclists before.
  • 10 spokes. The race down through Rio Grande do Sul was strange, because everyday, for 5 days STRAIGHT, I broke two spokes a day, which gave me no end to consternation. Now, for some odd reason, here in Uruguay, everything seems to be fine.
  • two digital cameras. Kaput. Dead. One HP Photosmart, ancient 3.1 megapixel, and then a Canon A401 powershot 4 megapixel. Doesn`t anyone make a bomb proof camera anymore? I`ve fallen back on my trusty Pentax ZX-5N with black and white film, and slides.
  • Four rechargeable Ni-Mh batteries. They no longer hold their charges anymore.
  • One Timberlands bottom soles. Got those replaced in Cuzco, Peru.
  • 4 pairs of sandals and flip flops
  • Both sides of my JANDD expedition rear racks. The lower aluminum posts snapped off after tons of abuse on dirt roads, so I had holes drilled into both sides, and bolted thick steel posts on to them. Then, after one too many breaks of the bolts that attached the rear rack mounts, I had em welded onto the bike! No more rack problems baby!

This of course, has helped me generate tons of ideas for future expedition equipment and modifications.

 In anycase, it`s good to be speaking and flirting in spanish again. The uruguayan people are wonderfully warm and friendly, and I`m definitely taking my time to get through to Buenos Aires.

Responses

  1. Many congrats Dave!!

    Fiquei impressionado com sua visão e coragem!
    Espero nos encontrarmos por ai.

    Um grande abraço e boa viagem.


Leave a Reply

Categories

