Posted by: davesnewadventure | January 17, 2009

The Book – JackFruit: A Bicycle Quest Through Latin America

I finally caved into it. I finally did it. In a mad, mad world, I put my work of nonfiction up, the thrilling recount of my 2001-2002 expedition through South and Central America up, for free for you readers to download and enjoy. So, why am I doing this? Why, after 7 years of hard work, sweat, tears, surviving the expedition in the first place, then attempting to put it into written word that would entertain, enthrall, and enlighten, would I EVER decide to give this away for FREE?!! Have I lost it?

Well, I didn’t exactly get to this decision lightly. You see, for the past six months, I’ve been busy trying to get this published. I sent out proposals, with a lot of marketing statistics and data, you know, the kind of stuff that would make an agent start to salivate. I mean, come on, I’ve had almost 39,000 blog page views… not withstanding that one of my most popular articles, about the Bora Bora tribe accounts for the large percentage of views. Interestingly, the search words for that article that I’ve seen consistently involves the words naked and amazon tribe, or naked amazon tribal women breasts. Yes, interestingly, there are many individuals with odd fetishes for brown primal women in a rain forest. Hey, what ever floats their boat, right? Well, jungle minded perverts aside, my proposal included analyses into the asian american, hispanic american, and spiritual minded american english speaking audience, which is a rather large audience. It included facts and figures on my latin american television appearances, appearing across latin america as well. You’d think that the idea of selling a spanish language version of my book to a half billion latinos would make the agents think some more about my book.

Alas, all my effort, to this date, is of no avail. I’ve received countless rejection slips, and several nibbles that ended in, “we’ve seriously thought about your book. No, really, we did! Or at least, I did. Unfortunately, the market is sooo competitive that we can only accept a limited number of projects. Have a nice day.” signs the agent.

I remember a quote by a famous publisher, O’Reilly, that the greatest threat to an author, isn’t piracy. It’s obscurity. With that said, I’m pirating myself. I’m pirating my work. I’m giving it away for free, mainly so that it at least finds its proper audience, but also to prove to those foolish agents, that people want to read this book, especially in light of these times, filled with financial crises, global climate change, and general end of the world talk. The work is protected under a Creative Commons License.

I mean, with dark times like these, who wouldn’t want to read a book that has a light at the end of the tunnel? So here it is. Come and get it. Read it, and enjoy. And let me know what you think about it. Prepare to be enlightened.

Addendum – August 3rd, 2009 – After several months of having the book available for free online, I became aware that because most people have trouble reading even a hundred pages of an ebook, that my 420 page book was intimidating. So, in the interests of the reader, I shortened the book for easier reading, and it’s coming out in print from Booklocker.com. So you can download the the book from Mininova.org.

Book Cover

Leave a Reply

Categories

